By Shereen Siewert

Results are in for the April 4 spring election, and Tony Evers has won a third term as the state’s superintendent of schools in Wisconsin’s only statewide race.

Evers, 65, defeated challenger Lowell Holtz, 59, a school choice proponent who retired last year from the Whitnall School District.

In the Wausau School Board race, incumbents Lance Trollop and Jeff Leigh were both re-elected, while challenger Lee Webster will also serve a three-year term.  Trollop was the top vote-getter, receiving 4,071 votes, followed by Webster with 3,263 and Leigh with 3,237. Challenger Jeff Kocha lost by a slim margin, garnering 3,178 votes. Yvonne Henning, who died in March, received 2,578 votes. Had Henning been among the top three candidates, the board would have appointed a replacement to serve a one-year term.

Local judges Mike Moran and Greg Strasser both ran unopposed for their seats in this election. Conservative-leaning Justice Annette Ziegler has no challenger this spring in the Wisconsin Supreme Court – it means she’s assured of another ten year term on the court.

None of Mosinee’s four school referendums were approved by voters.

The state Elections Commission predicted turnout at between 13 percent and 18 percent.