More news. Less fluff. All local.

Wisconsin’s Paul Chryst named Big Ten Coach of the Year

in Sports

The Big Ten announced more than a dozen individual awards Thursday, and the University of Wisconsin’s Paul Chryst won both the Dave McClain Coach of the Year (media) and the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year (coaches) awards,

Chryst’s awards come after leading the undefeated, fourth-ranked Badgers (12-0, 9-0) to a second straight Big Ten West title.

This is the second straight season that Chryst earned the award from the conference’s coaches.

Chryst boasts a 33-6 record in his three years Wisconsin, which enters Saturday’s Big Ten Championship game against Ohio State just one win from a coveted spot in the playoffs.

Badgers senior Troy Fumagalli won the Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year Award after catching 38 passes for 471 yards and four touchdowns this season.

And running back Jonathan Taylor took home the Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year Award. Taylor, a consensus All-Big Ten first team selection, won the conference’s Freshman of the Week a record eight times this year, with an impressive 1,806 rushing yards and 13 touchdowns this season.

Latest from Sports

Phillips handles Newman

CWS Sports Desk January 18, 2019 Phillips– After falling to D.C. Everest on
Go to Top
%d bloggers like this: