Wausau, Wis. – The University of Wisconsin-Marathon County (UWMC) has named its 2017-18 Kaplan Award recipients. The award recognizes individuals for significant innovative improvements in instruction and/or service to students. Recipients receive a $250 grant from the university, matched by the UWMC Foundation. The award honors Arthur M. Kaplan, who retired in 1993 as vice chancellor of the UW Colleges.

Aaron Steffen, associate professor of physics and astronomy, received the award for his work in identifying and providing creative curricular offerings. For example, he helped two students in need of physics courses beyond UWMC’s typical offerings. He also taught one of the courses outside of his regular course load without compensation. In addition, to meet growing student needs, he developed more online physics courses with laboratory credit.

Joanne Juedes, mathematics senior lecturer, earned the award for her dedication to serving students enrolled in development math. She was recognized for her innovative, patient, steady and clear instruction in working with struggling students and for boosting their self-esteem. Juedes assisted one student, who is blind, complete two math courses by using alphabet and number wooden blocks and foam numbers and letters to figure out complicated problems.

Maysee Cha, an adviser in UWMC’s TRiO program, received the award for the unwavering support and insightful guidance she provides students in directing them toward majors and future higher education institutions that complement students’ strengths and interests.

One reply on “UWMC honors Kaplan Award recipients”

Comments are closed.