By Shereen Siewert

Local election results are in for three local races in the Wausau metro area.

In the race to represent Dist. 9 in the Wausau City Council, two candidates will move on to the spring election in a seat now held by Joe Gehin.

Gehin is not running for reelection.

Dawn Herbst, who was endorsed by Gehin, won 53 percent of the vote. Herbst will move on to the spring election, as will Griffith Williams with 30 percent of the vote. Herbst and Williams defeated Ethel Quisler, who received about 16 percent of the vote.

Weston voters cast ballots in the village’s first ever primary, in which six of nine candidates will advance to the spring election.

Current Everest Metro Police Chief Wally Sparks, who will retire in two weeks, was the top vote-getter with 21 percent of ballots cast. Sparks, along with Mark Maloney, Lee Yeng Xiong, Loren White, Scott Berger and Stephanie Nagel, will advance to the spring election.

Thomas Rosenberg, Mark Porlier and Shawn Black were defeated in that race.

Source: Marathon County Election Results

In the Marathon County Board of Supervisors race to represent Dist. 36, incumbent Bill Miller will face off with challenger Nancy Stencil in the April election after defeating Ed Gale. Miller had 48 percent of the vote, while 38 percent of ballots were cast for Stencil. About 13 percent of voters cast ballots for Gale.

The spring election is April 3. Wausau Pilot and Review will have in-depth coverage of local races in the weeks leading up to the election.