Elliot Samuels, a student at Newman Catholic High School, has been named the Win Brockmeyer Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Greater Wausau Area for 2018.

The 23rd annual Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarship awards were celebrated Friday. The program is administered by the Community Foundation of of North Central Wisconsin.

The 2018 student athletes nominated by their school’s respective coaching staffs are:

  • Trey Buchberger – Wausau East High School
  • Derek Mesunas – D.C. Everest High School
  • Elliot Samuels – Newman Catholic High School
  • Vue Thao – Wausau West High School

Each nominee will be honored with a $500 scholarship. Samuels, selected as the Outstanding Player of the Year, will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

To be nominated, each student athlete must meet the following selection criteria, as established by the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee in 1996:

  • Graduating senior from D.C. Everest, Newman Catholic, Wausau East, or Wausau West High Schools (or any other greater Wausau area high school that develops a football program in the future)
  • Who is an outstanding football player;
  • Achieving recognition by his peers and coaches;
  • Who is a positive role model;
  • And displays the characteristics of aggressiveness, courage, physical development and sportsmanship.

The Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarship Fund was formed within the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin by members of the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee with donations received from over 135 donors in Brockmeyer’s memory.

Brockmeyer was a legendary high school football coach who excelled in leadership and the development of human potential. His winning football record from 1937 – 1971 covered 34 years at Wausau High School, which served students in the area currently served by D.C. Everest, Wausau East and West, and Newman Catholic High Schools.  The area-wide scholarship recognition program concept provides area-wide participation and recognition, and unites the region in recognition of their outstanding football players.  It also provides an opportunity to tell the Brockmeyer story and focus on his football legacy, uniting the communities in the region through the cooperative selection process.

In the Win Brockmeyer Scholarship Fund’s history, 75 young men have received scholarship awards totaling nearly $65,000.

Previous Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Year award recipients include:

2017               Zach Mueller, DC Everest Senior High School

2016               Thomas Dunbar, Wausau East High School

2015               Stephen Paoli, D.C. Everest Senior High School

2014               Jake Whalen, Wausau West High School

2013               Cole Radloff, Wausau West High School

2012               Logan Taylor, Wausau East High School

2011               Brandon Luedtke, Wausau East High School

2010               Matiah Fischer, Wausau West High School

2009               Tyler Day, Wausau West High School

2008               Anthony Fischer, Newman Catholic High School

2007               Tyler Utecht, Wausau West High School

2006               Joe Gallion, Wausau East High School

2005               Ben Fischer, Wausau East High School

2004               Jordan Hein, Wausau West High School

2003               Andy Crooks, Wausau East High School

2002               Bradley Block, Wausau East High School

2001               Mark Zalewski, Wausau East High School

2000               Jonathon Wanta, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1999               Bounthavy Khamratthanome, Wausau West High School

1998               Derek Abney, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1997               Heath Novitzke, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1996               Timothy Freiberg, Wausau West High School

# # #