WAUSAU — A low-income family will soon have a new home thanks to the work of Mosinee High School students and the Wausau affiliate of Habitat for Humanity.

The Mosinee High-built home will be moved to 1502 Tulip Lane in Rib Mountain on May 17 and is expected to arrive at its new site between 10:30 a.m. and 11 a.m., depending on weather conditions.

“Moving the homes from the school sites to the neighborhoods is always an exciting time for the students, Habitat volunteers and families,” said Berland Meyer, construction supervisor of the Wausau affiliate of Habitat for Humanity. “We welcome members of the public to join us at the sites as the house moves to its permanent location.”

The home is the 68th home the Wausau affiliate of Habitat for Humanity has constructed since its founding in 1990. Students in construction trades classes at Mosinee High School have been working all year on the home that has been partially constructed. A partially constructed home built in the construction trades program at D.C. Everest Senior High School was moved on May 10.

Habitat for Humanity volunteers will work through the summer to finish the homes at their permanent locations. Dedications for the new homes are expected to take place in September.

About the program

The organization builds houses using volunteer labor and money raised from the support of local businesses, churches, individual donors and fundraising events. These houses are sold at a no profit loan to a partner family chosen through a nondiscriminatory selection process. Partner families become Habitat homeowners after they have completed the required number of sweat equity hours. A small down payment is required, and an affordable mortgage is held by the affiliate. Homeowners are required to make monthly mortgage payments, which include home insurance and property taxes.

For more information, contact Connie Conrad, Wausau affiliate executive director, at 715-848-5042.

Photo courtesy Habitat for Humanity. Pictured are Deryk Allen, from left, Max Schira, Zach Gorecki, Jarrett Homelka and Riley Hackbarth.