MIDDLETON — As part of the annual State Patrol awards ceremony today, Wisconsin Gov. Tony Evers recognized 59 people, including law enforcement officers, other government employees and residents for lifesaving efforts and exemplary public service.

“Every day, Wisconsin’s emergency responders go above and beyond the call of duty to serve and protect our communities and folks across our state,” Evers said in a news release. “These annual awards provide an important opportunity to recognize their extraordinary dedication and professionalism, and to thank them for their service.”

Along with enforcing traffic laws, assisting stranded motorists and inspecting commercial motor vehicles, State Patrol officers serve in many roles including K-9 handlers, drone and aircraft pilots and crash reconstruction experts.

Lifesaving Awards (Efforts that maintained or saved a life.)

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Sgt. Clarissa JustmannNorth Fond du Lac PD
Andrew RadovanCivilian
Sgt. Clint BeckState PatrolEden, WI
Sgt. Luke NewmanState PatrolFond du Lac, WI
Trooper Jordan MatuseskiState PatrolBeaver Dam, WI
Trooper Coady SchiltzState Patrol
Inspector Mark BarlarState Patrol
Sgt. Clarissa JustmannNorth Fond du Lac PD
Trooper Brock RizzoState PatrolSpooner, WI
Trooper Jeff ZuzunagaState Patrol
Trooper Darrick LorbeckiState Patrol
Trooper Timothy WestphalState PatrolMinocqua, WI
Inspector Creighton SchwarkState PatrolBrown Deer, WI
Trooper Jeff SplinterState Patrol
Trooper Ryan RattundeState PatrolNecedah, WI
Trooper Todd CarlState Patrol
Sgt. Jennifer AustinState PatrolSturgeon Bay, WI
Carmen D. McVaneCivilian
Trooper Michael KnowltonState PatrolRochester, MN
Inspector Jerrick KruegerState PatrolOzaukee County

Lifesaving Effort Awards (Recognizes significant or prolonged lifesaving efforts.)

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Trooper Jon KerstenState Patrol
Trooper Dave MeredithState Patrol
Officer John WhiteBrookfield Police Dept.
Trooper David GibsonState PatrolFond du Lac, WI
Trooper Mark SamborskiState Patrol
Trooper Logan ChristelState Patrol
Brian PayneLaw enforcement dispatcher
Inspector Creighton SchwarkState Patrol
Inspector Dylan StrasburgState PatrolLake Mills, WI
Trooper Anna WatermanState PatrolAmery, WI
Trooper Troy StageState Patrol

Commendable Service Awards (Highly creditable acts that are above and beyond normal job expectations/accomplishments that enhance efficiency/effectiveness.)

Award recipientAgencyHometown
John ScherbertState PatrolEndeavor, WI
Inspector Mark BarlarState PatrolRacine, WI
Inspector Karl KronauState Patrol
Robert SteinState Patrol

Meritorious Service Awards (Efforts that exceed duty expectations and place officers at risk.)

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Trooper Anthony OlsonState PatrolBloomer, WI
Trooper Jacob EdwardsState PatrolSparta, WI
Inspector Travis LauerState PatrolEdgerton, WI
Trooper Brandon FerrellState Patrol
Capt. Andrew LygaWI Dept. of CorrectionsEdgerton, WI

Trooper of the Year

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Trooper Jamie KahkolaState PatrolGreen Bay, WI

Inspector of the Year

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Inspector Ryan SchultzState PatrolKronenwetter, WI

Dispatcher of the Year

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Carol WalshLaw enforcement dispatcherSand Creek, WI

Civilian Employee of the Year

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Paul BurkardState PatrolMadison, WI

Unit Citation – State Patrol K-9 Unit (Recognizes a work unit that has exhibited a significant degree of team effort.)

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Sgt. Todd BrehmState PatrolJanesville, WI
Trooper Alex TrofinState Patrol
Trooper Justin GlasenerState Patrol
Trooper Christopher ReynaState Patrol
Trooper Dillon LarsonState Patrol
Trooper Evan FoxState Patrol
Trooper David McCarthyState Patrol
Trooper Derek BergumState Patrol
Trooper Darrick LorbeckiState Patrol

Superintendent Commendation Awards (Recognizes employees who have achieved a superior level of proficiency in law enforcement activities.)

Speed Enforcement

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Trooper David ArrasState PatrolEau Claire, WI

Seat Belt Enforcement

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Trooper Ron ZenkState Patrol

Impaired Driving Enforcement

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Trooper Brett BoleyState PatrolChippewa Falls, WI
Melissa KimballState Patrol Chem TestOconomowoc, WI

Highway Criminal Interdiction Enforcement

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Trooper Zach SincoularState Patrol

Superintendent’s Commendation

Award recipientAgencyHometown
Inspector Dan SlickState PatrolSuperior, WI

State Patrol recruiting

The next State Patrol recruitment cycle – when men and women can apply to serve as troopers or inspectors – begins Nov. 11 and ends Jan. 12, 2020. More information can be found at wistatepatroljobs.wi.gov.