PRESS RELEASE — Wisconsin Valley Library Service (WVLS) Executive Director Marla Sepnafski has received a Legislative Citation recognizing her accomplishments as the 2019 Wisconsin Library Association Librarian of the Year.

The special recognition was presented to Sepnafski on behalf of the Wisconsin Legislature by Republican Sen. Jerry Petrowski on Nov. 16 at the WVLS Board of Trustees meeting in Wausau. It was signed by Petrowski, Governor Tony Evers, Republican Assembly Representatives Pat Snyder and John Spiros. Petrowski also gave Sepnafski an American flag that was flown over the Wisconsin State Capitol in her honor.

“I was completely surprised and honored to receive this award and visit from Sen. Petrowski,” Sepnafski said.

The citation notes Sepnafski’s dedication and devotion to making Wisconsin public libraries accessible and responsive to the needs of all residents, particularly to WVLS member libraries in Clark, Forest, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Oneida and Taylor Counties.

Sepnafski was hired by WVLS in a part-time role in 1981, that consisted of mostly clerical work. Sepnafski took on more responsibilities within the organization, and earned her Master’s of Library Science in 1991. Following a national search, Sepnafski became WVLS executive director in 2007.

Sepnafski received her Librarian of the Year award at the Wisconsin Library Association annual conference in Wisconsin Dells in October.