By Shereen Siewert

Longtime city council member Gary Gisselman, who represents Wausau’s Dist. 5, will not seek another term and has filed non-candidacy papers, according to Wausau Deputy City Clerk Mary Goede.

Gary Gisselman (City of Wausau photo)

District 5 stretches north from East Bridge and Stark streets up to Parcher Street at its farthest point. It extends from the Wisconsin River east to the city’s edge.

Gisselman is a lifelong resident of the district and has represented it on City Council since 2006. He also served eight years on the Marathon County Board. Retired from the Marathon County Public Library, Gisselman currently works part time at the Marathon County Historical Society.

In Dist. 4, Alderman Tom Neal is being challenged by Judith Miller, Goede said.

Becky McElhaney of Dist. 6, Linda Lawrence in Dist. 8 and Dawn Herbst in Dist. 9 have all filed papers declaring their intent to run for office in their districts. Lawrence was appointed in October after longtime Dist. 8 Alder Karen Kellbach stepped down, days before her death.

Incumbents who do not wish to run again are required to file declaration of non-candidacy forms by 5 p.m. on Dec. 27.

As of Dec. 3, Wausau’s mayoral race remains unchanged with current Mayor Robert Mielke being challenged by Christopher Norfleet and Katie Rosenberg.

Dec. 1 marked the first day candidates could circulate nomination papers. Candidates for council need between 20 and 40 signatures, while candidates for mayor need between 200 and 400 signatures to appear on the ballot.

Nomination papers or declarations of candidacy for April elections are due by 5 p.m. Jan. 7, 2020. Residents interested in running for office in Wausau can find paperwork online here.

The primary will be held Feb. 18.