WAUSAU — Four 2019 student athletes have been nominated by their school’s respective coaching staffs for the Win Brockmeyer Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Greater Wausau Area for 2019.

They are:

  • Benjamin Bates of Newman Catholic High School
  • Donovan Leverette of Wausau East High School
  • Marc Sippel of Wausau West High School
  • Delton Zuleger of D.C. Everest Senior High School

A selection committee composed of members of the press, area school athletic directors and a representative of the Community Foundation will announce the winner at 8 a.m. Dec. 20 at the Dudley Tower in downtown Wausau.

Each nominee will be honored with at least a $500 scholarship, and the student selected as the Outstanding Player of the Year will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

To be nominated, each student athlete met the following criteria:

  • Graduating senior from D.C. Everest, Newman Catholic, Wausau East or Wausau West high schools (or any other greater Wausau area high school that develops a football program in the future)
  • Who is an outstanding football player;
  • Achieving recognition by his peers and coaches;
  • Who is a positive role model;
  • And displays the characteristics of:
  • Aggressiveness
  • Courage
  • Physical development
  • Sportsmanship

Brockmeyer was a legendary high school football coach who excelled in leadership and the development of human potential. His winning football record from 1937 – 1971 covered 34 years at Wausau High School, which served students in the area currently served by D.C. Everest, Wausau East and West, and Newman Catholic High Schools.

In the Win Brockmeyer Scholarship Fund’s history, 79 young men have received scholarship awards totaling nearly $68,000.

Previous Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Year award recipients include:

2018                Elliot Samuels, Newman Catholic High School

2017                Zach Mueller, D.C. Everest Senior High School

2016                Thomas Dunbar, Wausau East High School

2015                Stephen Paoli, D.C. Everest Senior High School

2014                Jake Whalen, Wausau West High School

2013                Cole Radloff, Wausau West High School

2012                Logan Taylor, Wausau East High School

2011                Brandon Luedtke, Wausau East High School

2010                Matiah Fischer, Wausau West High School

2009                Tyler Day, Wausau West High School

2008                Anthony Fischer, Newman Catholic High School

2007                Tyler Utecht, Wausau West High School

2006                Joe Gallion, Wausau East High School

2005                Ben Fischer, Wausau East High School

2004                Jordan Hein, Wausau West High School

2003                Andy Crooks, Wausau East High School

2002                Bradley Block, Wausau East High School

2001                Mark Zalewski, Wausau East High School

2000                Jonathon Wanta, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1999                Bounthavy Khamratthanome, Wausau West High School

1998                Derek Abney, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1997                Heath Novitzke, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1996                Timothy Freiberg, Wausau West High School