Color image of some people voting in some polling booths at a voting station.

By Shereen Siewert

Nine challengers have so far filed candidacy papers for Wausau City Council seats, while three candidates have opted not to seek another term.

Among the challenged seats is Dist. 7, where current City Council President Lisa Rasmussen resides. Rasmussen, who ran unopposed in the last election, will face off against Tracy Wheatley, who filed candidacy papers on Thursday.

Gary Gisselman, who represents Dist. 5, Mary Thao, in Dist. 10 and Dennis Smith, who represents Dist. 11, filed non-candidacy papers earlier this month, according to Deputy City Clerk Mary Goede. Current city council members in all other districts will run again in the spring election.

Four council members are so far running without opposition: Pat Peckahm, in Dist. 1; David Nutting, in Dist. 3; Becky McElhaney, in Dist. 6, and Dawn Herbst, in Dist. 9.

In Dist. 2, Mchael Martens will have a challenger in newcomer Tiffany Rodriguez-Lee, while Tom Neal in Dist. 4 is being challenged by Judith Miller. And Linda Lawrence, in Dist. 8, is being challenged by Sarah Watson.

To candidates have emerged in Dist. 5: Jim Wadinski and Joel Lewis. So far, just one candidate, Donna Krause, has filed candidacy papers in Dist. 10. In Dist. 11, Debra Ryan will face off against Patrick Bacher for Smith’s current seat.

Wausau attorney Mark Sauer will also seek another term as municipal judge. His remains unchallenged as of Thursday.

As of Thursday, Dec. 26, the mayoral race remains unchanged with current Mayor Robert Mielke being challenged by Christopher Norfleet and Katie Rosenberg.

Dec. 1 marked the first day candidates could circulate nomination papers. Candidates for council need between 20 and 40 signatures, while candidates for mayor need between 200 and 400 signatures to appear on the ballot.

Incumbents who do not wish to run again are required to file declaration of non-candidacy forms by 5 p.m. on Dec. 27.

Nomination papers or declarations of candidacy for April elections are due by 5 p.m. Jan. 7, 2020. Residents interested in running for office in Wausau can find paperwork online here.

The primary will be held Feb. 18.