WAUSAU – The Aspirus Health Foundation has awarded $550,000 in scholarships to four medical students from the Medical College of Wisconsin-Central Wisconsin Campus.

The following Aspirus Scholars recipients have accepted scholarships in return for future employment with Aspirus:

  • Aleksander Downs, second year medical student (Hometown: Terre Haute, Indiana)
  • Satchel Beranek, first year medical student (Hometown: Marathon)
  • Mercedes Miller, first year medical tudent (Hometown: Arcadia)
  • Sarah Steffen, first year medical student (Hometown: New Richmond)

The scholarships were awarded through the Foundation’s Aspirus Scholars Program, a community collaboration to address the national physician shortage and meet the needs of people and communities in north central Wisconsin and Upper Michigan.

The Aspirus Scholars Program provides scholarships for tuition to medical students and connects them to Aspirus and the communities served by Aspirus during their training. In return, students will commit to employment at Aspirus in the areas of primary care, psychiatry or general surgery.

“Our Aspirus Scholars award recipients already have strong ties to north central Wisconsin as well as the U.P. of Michigan and are passionate about medicine and caring for patients,” said Kalynn Pempek, executive director of the Aspirus Health Foundation and Volunteer Services, in a news release.

The Aspirus Scholars Program could bring as many as 62 new primary care, psychiatry or general surgery providers to communities in north central Wisconsin and the upper peninsula of Michigan by the year 2030, according to Aspirus.

Photo courtesy Aspirus.