WAUSAU – Northcentral Technical College students seeking to transfer credits to one of the state’s private, nonprofit colleges and universities will have a much easier time in the future thanks to a new comprehensive credit transfer agreement.

More than a dozen popular introductory courses are included in the agreement, including chemistry, psychology and speech. Under the agreement, specified technical college credits will count toward requirements for a bachelor’s degree at a private college, provided the student earned a grade of “C” or better within the last 10 years. Technical college students must also meet the admissions requirements of the private college.

“We continue to expand transfer opportunities for all students,” said Lori Weyers, president, in a news release. “From our liberal arts transfer partnership to our program agreements that offer junior status to this latest partnership with Wisconsin’s private colleges and universities, you can truly start here and go anywhere.”

Morna K. Foy, president of the Wisconsin Technical College System, and Rolf Wegenke, president of the Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges Universities (WAICU), recently signed the transfer agreement.

“Wisconsin’s private colleges and universities have long been leaders in recognizing the rigor of a technical college education, and the value of creating transfer opportunities for our students,” Foy said in the release. “This agreement sets a strong foundation for the future by allowing all of our institutions – in both sectors – to make lifelong learning opportunities even clearer for students.”

The two organizations have negotiated “course equivalencies” that provide great value to transfer students by reducing or eliminating the need to spend extra time and money retaking courses. The ability to smoothly transfer credits provides more flexibility for students — especially those who wish to start their college career close to home, as well as nontraditional students who are already in the workforce and are looking to further their careers with bachelor’s degrees.

All 16 Wisconsin technical colleges are participating, in addition to a first cohort of WAICU-member institutions, including Alverno College, Cardinal Stritch University, Carroll University, Carthage College, Concordia University Wisconsin, Edgewood College, Herzing University, Lakeland University, Marian University, Marquette University, Milwaukee School of Engineering, Mount Mary University, Northland College, Viterbo University and Wisconsin Lutheran College.