By Shereen Siewert

Democrat Jeff Johnson will face off with Republican Pat Snyder in Wisconsin’s 85th Assembly seat race after he came out on top in a two-way race Tuesday.

Johnson beat Aaron LaFave in Tuesday’s primary election by a 65 percent to 35 percent margin. Snyder currently holds the seat.

In the race for Marathon County treasurer, Republican incumbent Audrey Jensen lost to her primary challenger, Connie Beyersdorff by a 61 to 39 percent margin. No Democrats are running for the position.

Democrat Ron Kind easily defeated his primary challenger, Mark Neumann, 81 to 19 percent, in the U.S> Third Congressional District. Kind, the incumbent, will face Republican Derrick Van Orden in November. Van Orden had 66 percent of the votes, while Jessi Ebben had 34 percent on Tuesday.

In Marathon County, voter turnout for Tuesday’s partisan primary was about 28 percent. About 51 percent of Marathon County voters cast ballots for Republican candidates compared to about 49 percent who voted in races for Democrats.

The U.S. presidential election is Nov. 3.