Wausau West's Gavin Lange flips D.C. Everest's Deakin Trotzer on his way to a win in the 126-pound championship at the WIAA Division 1 wrestling regional on Saturday at Marshfield High School. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Wausau Pilot & Review)

Wausau Pilot & Review

MARSHFIELD – Marshfield won seven individual titles and took the team championship at the WIAA Division 1 wrestling regional Saturday at the Chips Hamburgers Fieldhouse at Marshfield High School.

The top four finishers in each weight class move on to the Division 1 individual sectional on Feb. 19 at Eau Claire North.

Marshfield will compete at the D-1 team sectional at Wausau West on Tuesday against River Falls for a berth in the WIAA Team State Wrestling Championships, which will be held March 4-5 at the University of Wisconsin Fieldhouse in Madison.

Marshfield finished with 259.5 points, with Wausau West was second with 215 points, D.C. Everest third with 165.5 and Wausau East eighth with 67.5.

Marshfield will send 12 wrestlers to the individual sectional as seven of the eight Tigers that reached the finals won. Three others placed third and another in fourth.

Three of the six Wausau West wrestlers that reached the finals won regional titles, and a total of 11 Warriors qualified for sectionals.

Gavin Lange (20-15) won the title at 126 pounds, beating Deakin Trotzer (6-4) of D.C. Everest, 6-2.

Joseph Berens (36-3) and Colton Geurink (33-3) also won regional championships for West with pins at 195 and 220 pounds, respectively.

Thai Yang (24-11 at 106), Connor Calmes (23-14 at 160), and Sam Galang (21-10 at 113) all finished second; Gabriel Ramos (35-3 at 145), Nathan LaRue (26-10 at 182) and Reed Napiowocki (30-9 at 170) each took third place; and Chi Meng Xiong (15-21 at 120) and Athan Somers (21-6 at 285) both ended up fourth to move on to sectionals for West.

In addition to Trotzer, D.C. Everest had six others earn sectional spots.

Taylor Dillon (21-12) won the 112-pound title for D.C. Everest, pinning Galang in 2:54.

Easton Cooper (24-4 at 120) and Blake Heal (27-6 at 138) also placed second; Tyler Modjewski (17-13 at 106) and Mitchell Danielski (29-11 at 220) were both third; and Cameron Saari (15-13 at 145), Terrance Banks (7-8 at 152) and Daytona Pagel (14-15 at 160) all finished fourth for the Evergreens to move on.

Maddox Rye (20-7) had Wausau East’s top finish as he took second at 132 pounds, losing in the finals to Marshfield’s Keagan Cliver, 11-3.

East had three other sectional qualifiers as Ryan Jaeger (17-14 at 106), Jack Bessette (7-20 at 113) and Christian Emerson (13-12 at 182) all took fourth place.

The top two finishers in each weight class at the sectional will qualify for the WIAA State Individual Wrestling Tournament at the Kohl Center in Madison on Feb. 24-26.

WIAA Division 1 wrestling regional

Feb. 12, at Marshfield High School

Team scores: 1. Marshfield 259.5; 2. Wausau West 215; 3. D.C. Everest 165.5; 4. Stevens Point 135; 5. Rhinelander 127; 6. Merrill 100; 7. Lakeland/Mercer 77; 8. Wausau East 67.5.

Top four in each weight class qualify for individual sectionals

106 pounds

Championship: Aiden Ostermann (RH) def. Thai Yang (WW), 7-1.

Third place: Tyler Modjewski (DC) pinned Joey Jensen (MER), 3:53.

Fourth-place wrestleback: Ryan Jaeger (WE) def. Jensen (MER), 8-3.

113 pounds

Championship: Taylor Dillon (DC) pinned Sam Galang (WW), 2:54.

Third place: Jace Kelnhofer (MAR) pinned Evan Fredericks (MER), 4:53.

Fourth-place wrestleback: Jack Bessette (WE) def. Fredericks (MER), 12-2.

120 pounds

Championship: Caleb Dennee (MAR) def. Easton Cooper (DC), 6-4.

Third place: Ashton Bremer (LM) pinned Kyle Wiese (RH), 0:51.

Second-place wrestleback: Cooper (DC) def. Bremer (LM), 1:13.

Fourth-place wrestleback: Chi Meng Xiong (WW) pinned Wiese (RH), 1:46.

126 pounds

Championship: Gavin Lange (WW) def. Deakin Trotzer (DC), 6-2.

Third place: Grayden Rode (MAR) pinned Logan Seavers (SP), 1:05.

Second-place wrestleback: Trotzer (DC) def. Rode (MAR), 6-3.

Fourth-place wrestleback: Seavers (SP) pinned Noah Rhea (WE), 2:42.

132 pounds

Championship: Keagan Cliver (MAR) won major dec. over Maddox Rye (WE), 11-3.

Third place: Riley Seavers (SP) def. Jacob Pease (WW), medical forfeit.

Second-place wrestleback: Rye (WE) won major dec. over Seavers (SP), 11-3.

Fourth-place wrestleback: Tyson Skubal (LM) def. Pease (WW), medical forfeit.

138 pounds

Championship: Hoyt Blaskowski (MAR) won major dec. over Blake Heal (DC), 9-1.

Third place: Callum Wheeler (MER) def. Charlie Heikkinen (SP), 11-5.

145 pounds

Championship: Brett Franklin (MAR) def. Kale Roth (SP), 11-7 (SV-1).

Third place: Gabriel Ramos (WW) def. Cameron Saari (DC), 7-1.

152 pounds

Championship: Garrett Willuweit (MAR) def. T.J. Schierl (SP), 7-5.

Third place: Zane Grams (LM) pinned Terrance Banks (DC), 3:29.

160 pounds

Championship: Ryan Dolezal (MAR) def. Connor Calmes (WW), injury default.

Third place: Cole Lehman (RH) won by major dec. over Austin Depies (MER), 11-3.

Fourth-place wrestleback: Daytona Pagel (DC) won by technical fall over Depies (MER), 22-6.

170 pounds

Championship: Camren Dennee (MAR) pinned Conner Seavers (SP), 3:05.

Third place: Reed Napiwocki (WW) pinned Jerry Goselin (LM), 3:20.

182 pounds

Championship: Gavin Ostermann (RH) pinned Cody Weix (MAR), 3:42.

Third place: Nathan LaRue (WW) pinned Christian Emerson (WE), 0:40.

195 pounds

Championship: Joseph Berens (WW) pinned Wyatt Bathke (MER), 1:17.

Third place: Joseph Fugle (RH) pinned Leonard Chosa (LM), 3:21.

Second-place wrestleback: Bathke (MER) won major dec. over Fugle (RH), 13-3.

Fourth-place wrestleback: Chosa (LM) def. Joey Carolfi (MAR), 5-2.

220 pounds

Championship: Colton Geurink (WW) pinned Ryder Depies (MER), 5:02.

Third place: Mitchell Danielski (DC) pinned James Clements (MAR), 3:27.

Second-place wrestleback: Depies (MER) won major dec. over Danielski (DC), 14-4.

Fourth-place wrestleback: Clements (MAR) pinned Carter VanderLoop (SP), 3:36.

285 pounds

Championship: Jared Rohde (SP) won major dec. over Owen Kurtz (RH), 12-2.

Third place: Adrian Kruger (MAR) def. Athan Somers (WW), 9-7 (SV-1).

Second-place wrestleback: Kurtz (RH) def. Kruger (MAR), 4-2 (SV-1).

Fourth-place wrestleback: Somers (WW) pinned Myles Paulson (DC), 1:18.