By Shereen Siewert

The top-ranked University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point men’s hockey team beat Norwich on Saturday to win the program’s sixth national championship in program history.

The final score was 3-2 in overtime. The  win extended the program’s unbeaten streak to 31 games, with a record of 29-0-2. The Pointers are now the first-ever unbeaten national champions in Division III history.

Sophomore goaltender Connor Ryckman made 26 saves in the matchup, including four saves in overtime. With his 26th win of the year, Ryckman also earned a program record for single-season wins by a goaltender.

Sophomore Steven Quagliata scored the winning goal at 15:13 into the first overtime.

Tanner Karty, a senior, was named outstanding player of the championship.

See the full box score here.