Wausau Pilot & Review

WISCONSIN RAPIDS – Wausau East finished with a team score of 318 to finish six shots in front of Stevens Point and capture the first leg of the seven-meet Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Golf Tournament on Friday at Ridges Golf Course.

Cooper Bjerke and Teddy Schlindwein of Wausau East, Keegan Fredrick of Marshfield and Nate Earnest of Stevens Point all tied for first place with 78s, finishing one shot in front of Merrill’s Jacob Schmeltzer and Wisconsin Rapids’ Carter Morrison in a tight finish. Sawyer Crumbs of Wausau East was just another stroke back with an 81.

Marshfield finished third with a 334, nine shots in front of Wisconsin Rapids. D.C. Everest placed fifth with a 352, Merrill had a 357 and Wausau West a 361 at the 18-hole event.

Russell Harder topped Wausau West with an 83 to finish 12th.

Tanner Courtright shot an 83 to tie for 13th and Carter Quevillon added an 86 for D.C. Everest.

The second WVC Tournament leg will be Tuesday at Greenwood Hills Country Club in Wausau.

Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Golf Tournament
Leg No. 1, April 26, at Ridges Golf Course, Wisconsin Rapids
Team scores:
1. Wausau East 318; 2. Stevens Point 324; 3. Marshfield 334; 4. Wisconsin Rapids 343; 5. D.C. Everest 352; 6. Merrill 357; 7. Wausau West 361.
Individual scores: 1. Cooper Bjerke (WE), Keegan Fredrick (MAR), Nate Earnest (SP) and Teddy Schlindwein (WE) 78; 5. Jacob Schmeltzer (MER) and Carter Morrison (WR) 79; 7. Sawyer Krambs (WE) 80; 8. Jax Pagel (WR), Zach Hinchcliffe (SP) and Hayden Ackerlund (SP) 81; 11. Brody Trantow (WE) 82; 12. Russell Harder (WW) 83; 13. Tanner Courtright (DC), Afton Hamill (MAR) and Carter Combs (SP) 84; 16. Trent Breitbach (SP) and Magnus Machtan (MAR) 85; 18. Parker Klebenow (MER) and Carter Quevillon (DC) 86; 20. Maxx Oertel (MAR) and Tyler Heiman (MAR) 87; 22. Bryce Breidl (WR) 90; 23. Zachary May (DC), Alex Fehl (WW) and Ben Zoesch (DC) 91; 26. William Butalla (WW) 92; 27. Conner Jensen (WR) and Griffen Bunnell (DC) 93; 29. Wil Weidman (WR) and Sawyer Zydzik (WW) 95; 31. Chase Klebenow (MER) and Evan Elliott (MER) 96; 33. Andrew Kraft (WE) and Colton Burrows (MER) 97; 35. Drew Schwabe (WW) 101.