The Wausau RiverWolves will take the ice tonight at Marathon Park as the team’s inaugural season gets underway.

The team this week also announced their official roster for the 2017-2018 season. The roster includes eight Wisconsin natives: Austin Burgener of Merrill, Cody Gottfreid of Franklin, Michael Alfonso of Wausau, Tristan Slot of Kaukauna, Garrett Alton of Racine, Janne Rukamp of De Pere, Ben Brown of Merrill, Santana Pinkert of Green Bay and Henry Baribeau of Hudson.

“Our roster is what junior hockey is about. We are developing and showcasing players from not only Wisconsin, but all over North America. We are a melting pot of hometowns, and really it creates life-long friendships. Now a Wisconsin guy, can go to Sheridan, WY to see a buddy or to skate over the summer. I love having players from all over,” Head Coach Tim Brownell said.

The roster also features players from six other states including Colorado, Ohio, Wyoming, Minnesota, Illinois and Missouri. Forward Owen Routheut is the lone foreign-born player, hailing from Feversham, Ontario.

The puck drops at 7 p.m. at Marathon Park Ice Arena. Tickets are still available for tonight’s game and can be purchased at the arena. Ticket prices are $10 for adults, $5 for ages 5 to 18, free for children younger than 5.

Gates open at 6 p.m.