So far, four current members of the Marathon County Board of Supervisors say they won’t run again, while seven newcomers are in the mix for the spring election.

Candidates began circulating nomination papers on Dec. 1. As of Monday, Dec. 11, board members Joel Lewis, Orval Quamme, Lee Peek and Sherry Abitz have filed non-candidacy papers, according to Marathon County Clerk Nan Kottke.

Romey Wagner, Ka Lo, Shayne Courneya, Alyson Leahy, Sharon Hunter, Thomas Rosenberg and Shawn Black are newcomers seeking seats to the board.

Corneya has served on the board before. He was appointed in September 2015 to represent District 1 when Jim Rosenberg moved out of the city. Now, Courneya seeks to represent District 9, Peek’s current district.

Wagner is also seeking reelection to his Wausau City Council seat.

Katie Rosenberg, Dave Nutting, Jack Hoogendyk, Karen Kellbach, Rick Seefeldt, E.J. Stark, Craig McEwen, Sara Guild, Thomas Seubert, Kurt Gibbs, Tim Buttke, Jim Schaefer, and Todd Van Ryn have all indicated they will run again. Van Ryn was appointed last year to represent District 11, a seat being challenged by Leahy.

As of Monday, 21 incumbents on the 38-member board have not yet filed any papers. Sitting board members have until Dec. 22 to file notifications of non-candidacy, and all candidacy paperwork must be filed by Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018.