Wausau West junior Lexie White was an honorable mention selection on the Division 1 all-state girls basketball team. (Photo courtesy of Rick Kuharske)

By Paul Lecker
Wausau Pilot & Review

Wausau West junior Lexie White was one of three unanimous first-team selections and was named Player of the Year on the 2021-22 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Basketball Team, as voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

White, Wisconsin Rapids senior Megan Clary, and Stevens Point junior Emma Jossie were unanimous selections to the first team, which also included D.C. Everest senior Kiara Hammond and Wausau West junior Kenzie Deaton.

White was fourth in the conference in scoring at 16.8 points per game and assists at 3.3 per game as the Warriors won the WVC title with a perfect 12-0 record.

Hammond led the conference in scoring at 25.8 points per game, while making 49.8 percent of her field goal attempts and shot 83.9 percent at the free thorw line.

Clary was second in the conference in scoring at 22.8 points per game, while making 31 3-pointers.

Jossie topped the Valley in field goal percentage (55.6 percent), was second in 3-point percentage (42.9 percent), third in the free throw percentage (80.6 percent), was third in scoring at 19.9 points per game, and fourth in rebounding at 8.5 per game.

Deaton averaged 13.8 points per game and was the conference’s top 3-point shooter at 43.6 percent.

Wausau East senior Madisyn Krueger was named to the second team, and teammate Lily Messman earned honorable mention status.

D.C. Everest also had two honorable mention picks in junior Braelyn Beiler and senior Kennedy Stowell, as did Wausau West with sophomore Kelly Kray and junior Molly Anderson.

Wausau West’s Tom Weinkauf was named Coach of the Year.

2021-22 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Basketball Team
(*denotes unanimous selection)
First team:
*Lexie White, jr., Wausau West; Kiara Hammond, sr., D.C. Everest; *Emma Jossie, jr., Stevens Point; *Megan Clary, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Kenzie Deaton, jr., Wausau West.
Second team: Dani Minsaas, jr., Marshfield; Chelsea King, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Zoe Fink, sr., Stevens Point; Abby Ongna, so., Marshfield; Madisyn Krueger, sr., Wausau East.
Honorable mention: Braelyn Beiler, jr., D.C. Everest; Kennedy Stowell, sr., D.C. Everest; Zaida Kolbeck, fr., Marshfield; Alaya Pozorski, jr., Merrill; Avery Lilly, sr., Stevens Point; Tahlia Moe, jr., Stevens Point; Lily Messman, sr., Wausau East; Audrey Danninger, sr., Wausau West; Kelly Kray, so., Wausau West; Molly Anderson, jr., Wausau West; Ella Bruns, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.
Player of the Year: Lexie White, jr., Wausau West.
Coach of the Year: Tom Weinkauf, Wausau West.