A D.C. Everest High School senior was honored Friday as the Win Brockmeyer football player of the year for 2017.

Zach Mueller was one of four finalists named earlier this month, all of whom are recipients of the 22nd annual Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarships. The program is administered by the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin.

In addition to Mueller, the 2017 student athletes nominated by their school’s respective coaching staffs include:

  • Marshall Hackel – Newman Catholic High School
  • Mitchell Michalski – Wausau West High School
  • Nathan Rodman – Wausau East High School

From these nominees, Mueller was chosen by a selection committee composed of members of the press, area school athletic directors, and a representative of the Community Foundation.

Each nominee will be honored with a $500 scholarship. Zach Mueller, selected as the Outstanding Player of the Year, will receive a $2,000 scholarship.

To be nominated, each student athlete must meet the following selection criteria, as established by the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee* in 1996:

  • Graduating senior from D.C. Everest, Newman Catholic, Wausau East, or Wausau West High Schools (or any other greater Wausau area high school that develops a football program in the future)
  • Who is an outstanding football player;
  • Achieving recognition by his peers and coaches;
  • Who is a positive role model;
  • And displays the characteristics of:
    • Aggressiveness
    • Courage
    • Physical development
    • Sportsmanship

The Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarship Fund was formed within the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin by members of the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee with donations received from over 135 donors in Brockmeyer’s memory.

Brockmeyer was a legendary high school football coach who excelled in leadership and the development of human potential. His winning football record from 1937 – 1971 covered 34 years at Wausau High School, which served students in the area currently served by D.C. Everest, Wausau East and West, and Newman Catholic High Schools.  The area-wide scholarship recognition program concept provides area-wide participation and recognition, and unites the region in recognition of their outstanding football players.  It also provides an opportunity to tell the Brockmeyer story and focus on his football legacy, uniting the communities in the region through the cooperative selection process.

In the Win Brockmeyer Scholarship Fund’s history, 72 young men have received scholarship awards totaling $61,500.

Previous Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Year award recipients are:

2016            Thomas Dunbar, Wausau East High School

2015            Stephen Paoli, D.C. Everest Senior High School

2014            Jake Whalen, Wausau West High School

2013            Cole Radloff, Wausau West High School

2012            Logan Taylor, Wausau East High School

2011            Brandon Luedtke, Wausau East High School

2010            Matiah Fischer, Wausau West High School

2009            Tyler Day, Wausau West High School

2008            Anthony Fischer, Newman Catholic High School

2007            Tyler Utecht, Wausau West High School

2006            Joe Gallion, Wausau East High School

2005            Ben Fischer, Wausau East High School

2004            Jordan Hein, Wausau West High School

2003            Andy Crooks, Wausau East High School

2002            Bradley Block, Wausau East High School

2001            Mark Zalewski, Wausau East High School

2000            Jonathon Wanta, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1999            Bounthavy Khamratthanome, Wausau West High School

1998            Derek Abney, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1997            Heath Novitzke, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1996            Timothy Freiberg, Wausau West High School