By Shereen Siewert

Four candidates will vie for three seats on the Wausau School Board in the spring election, including two incumbents.

Wausau School officials say Lance Trollop and Lee Webster will seek another three-year term. Ka Lo, who is a current Marathon County Board member, and political newcomer Cody Nikolai will also appear on the ballot.

Current School Board member Jeff Leigh filed a declaration of non-candidacy.

Webster was first elected to the board in 2017, while Trollop is a long-time member and former chair of the board.

The Wausau Board of Education consists of nine community members elected by the citizens of the District. Board members are elected at-large and serve overlapping terms of three years. Board members receive a yearly salary established at the District’s Annual Meeting.

The School Board acts to establish policies that govern the operation of the Wausau School District. It has final control over local school matters limited by the state legislature, the courts, and the will of the people as expressed in School District elections.

The spring election is set for April 7.